New recipes

This Popular Easter Candy Is Almost 90 Years Old

This Popular Easter Candy Is Almost 90 Years Old


Who knew beans could be so sweet

© Chernetskaya | Dreamstime.com

Sweet treats and great eats help define what makes Easter such a popular holiday. It’s a day filled with egg decorating and egg hunts. But little compares to seeing the look on a child’s face when they open their Easter basket.

These Are the Most Popular Jelly Bean Flavors in America

Packed with chocolates and marshmallows, an Easter basket is a classic symbol of this springtime holiday. One sweet treat, however, has a range of flavors and has delighted children and adults alike on Easter for 90 years: the jelly bean, which might be Easter’s most iconic candy.

Although Easter is a religious holiday, the origin of Easter eggs is believed to stem from pagan festivals. During the celebrations of spring’s arrival, eggs were a symbol of new life. In Christianity, the egg was believed to represent the resurrection of Jesus.

According to the National Confectioners Association, jelly beans became an Easter tradition in the 1930s thanks to their egg-like shape. The Easter Bunny would deliver jelly beans along with eggs because of their similarities. Since the ‘30s, jelly beans have become an Easter staple shared across the country, and with flavors ranging from buttered popcorn to licorice, there’s always something new to try. If you want to learn more about Easter, like why we even have the Easter Bunny, check out these fun Easter facts.


The 18 Best Vegan Candy Options You Should Stock Up On For Halloween

In a world where even something as seemingly harmless as "confectioner's glaze" is made with beetle secretions (nope, not joking&mdashthank you, PETA), finding vegan candy can be a CHALLENGE.

Whether you're gung-ho about the animal-free life or just trying to avoid dairy and, ya know, beetles, you can totally still indulge your sweet tooth&mdashif you know what sneaky ingredients to look out for.

Obviously, dairy ingredients like milk, butter, milk fat, condensed milk, and milk powder are off the table. Same goes for casein and whey, two types of protein in milk often used in candies.

Other no-gos: Gelatin, which comes from animal bones and is often used in gummies. Oh, and another gross one? Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA.

Though you'll have to kiss most chocolate candies (including classic Tootsie Rolls) goodbye, you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. After scouring dozens of ingredients lists (and consulting PETA's website), I found 18 popular picks that are completely animal-free.


The 18 Best Vegan Candy Options You Should Stock Up On For Halloween

In a world where even something as seemingly harmless as "confectioner's glaze" is made with beetle secretions (nope, not joking&mdashthank you, PETA), finding vegan candy can be a CHALLENGE.

Whether you're gung-ho about the animal-free life or just trying to avoid dairy and, ya know, beetles, you can totally still indulge your sweet tooth&mdashif you know what sneaky ingredients to look out for.

Obviously, dairy ingredients like milk, butter, milk fat, condensed milk, and milk powder are off the table. Same goes for casein and whey, two types of protein in milk often used in candies.

Other no-gos: Gelatin, which comes from animal bones and is often used in gummies. Oh, and another gross one? Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA.

Though you'll have to kiss most chocolate candies (including classic Tootsie Rolls) goodbye, you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. After scouring dozens of ingredients lists (and consulting PETA's website), I found 18 popular picks that are completely animal-free.


The 18 Best Vegan Candy Options You Should Stock Up On For Halloween

In a world where even something as seemingly harmless as "confectioner's glaze" is made with beetle secretions (nope, not joking&mdashthank you, PETA), finding vegan candy can be a CHALLENGE.

Whether you're gung-ho about the animal-free life or just trying to avoid dairy and, ya know, beetles, you can totally still indulge your sweet tooth&mdashif you know what sneaky ingredients to look out for.

Obviously, dairy ingredients like milk, butter, milk fat, condensed milk, and milk powder are off the table. Same goes for casein and whey, two types of protein in milk often used in candies.

Other no-gos: Gelatin, which comes from animal bones and is often used in gummies. Oh, and another gross one? Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA.

Though you'll have to kiss most chocolate candies (including classic Tootsie Rolls) goodbye, you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. After scouring dozens of ingredients lists (and consulting PETA's website), I found 18 popular picks that are completely animal-free.


The 18 Best Vegan Candy Options You Should Stock Up On For Halloween

In a world where even something as seemingly harmless as "confectioner's glaze" is made with beetle secretions (nope, not joking&mdashthank you, PETA), finding vegan candy can be a CHALLENGE.

Whether you're gung-ho about the animal-free life or just trying to avoid dairy and, ya know, beetles, you can totally still indulge your sweet tooth&mdashif you know what sneaky ingredients to look out for.

Obviously, dairy ingredients like milk, butter, milk fat, condensed milk, and milk powder are off the table. Same goes for casein and whey, two types of protein in milk often used in candies.

Other no-gos: Gelatin, which comes from animal bones and is often used in gummies. Oh, and another gross one? Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA.

Though you'll have to kiss most chocolate candies (including classic Tootsie Rolls) goodbye, you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. After scouring dozens of ingredients lists (and consulting PETA's website), I found 18 popular picks that are completely animal-free.


The 18 Best Vegan Candy Options You Should Stock Up On For Halloween

In a world where even something as seemingly harmless as "confectioner's glaze" is made with beetle secretions (nope, not joking&mdashthank you, PETA), finding vegan candy can be a CHALLENGE.

Whether you're gung-ho about the animal-free life or just trying to avoid dairy and, ya know, beetles, you can totally still indulge your sweet tooth&mdashif you know what sneaky ingredients to look out for.

Obviously, dairy ingredients like milk, butter, milk fat, condensed milk, and milk powder are off the table. Same goes for casein and whey, two types of protein in milk often used in candies.

Other no-gos: Gelatin, which comes from animal bones and is often used in gummies. Oh, and another gross one? Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA.

Though you'll have to kiss most chocolate candies (including classic Tootsie Rolls) goodbye, you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. After scouring dozens of ingredients lists (and consulting PETA's website), I found 18 popular picks that are completely animal-free.


The 18 Best Vegan Candy Options You Should Stock Up On For Halloween

In a world where even something as seemingly harmless as "confectioner's glaze" is made with beetle secretions (nope, not joking&mdashthank you, PETA), finding vegan candy can be a CHALLENGE.

Whether you're gung-ho about the animal-free life or just trying to avoid dairy and, ya know, beetles, you can totally still indulge your sweet tooth&mdashif you know what sneaky ingredients to look out for.

Obviously, dairy ingredients like milk, butter, milk fat, condensed milk, and milk powder are off the table. Same goes for casein and whey, two types of protein in milk often used in candies.

Other no-gos: Gelatin, which comes from animal bones and is often used in gummies. Oh, and another gross one? Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA.

Though you'll have to kiss most chocolate candies (including classic Tootsie Rolls) goodbye, you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. After scouring dozens of ingredients lists (and consulting PETA's website), I found 18 popular picks that are completely animal-free.


The 18 Best Vegan Candy Options You Should Stock Up On For Halloween

In a world where even something as seemingly harmless as "confectioner's glaze" is made with beetle secretions (nope, not joking&mdashthank you, PETA), finding vegan candy can be a CHALLENGE.

Whether you're gung-ho about the animal-free life or just trying to avoid dairy and, ya know, beetles, you can totally still indulge your sweet tooth&mdashif you know what sneaky ingredients to look out for.

Obviously, dairy ingredients like milk, butter, milk fat, condensed milk, and milk powder are off the table. Same goes for casein and whey, two types of protein in milk often used in candies.

Other no-gos: Gelatin, which comes from animal bones and is often used in gummies. Oh, and another gross one? Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA.

Though you'll have to kiss most chocolate candies (including classic Tootsie Rolls) goodbye, you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. After scouring dozens of ingredients lists (and consulting PETA's website), I found 18 popular picks that are completely animal-free.


The 18 Best Vegan Candy Options You Should Stock Up On For Halloween

In a world where even something as seemingly harmless as "confectioner's glaze" is made with beetle secretions (nope, not joking&mdashthank you, PETA), finding vegan candy can be a CHALLENGE.

Whether you're gung-ho about the animal-free life or just trying to avoid dairy and, ya know, beetles, you can totally still indulge your sweet tooth&mdashif you know what sneaky ingredients to look out for.

Obviously, dairy ingredients like milk, butter, milk fat, condensed milk, and milk powder are off the table. Same goes for casein and whey, two types of protein in milk often used in candies.

Other no-gos: Gelatin, which comes from animal bones and is often used in gummies. Oh, and another gross one? Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA.

Though you'll have to kiss most chocolate candies (including classic Tootsie Rolls) goodbye, you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. After scouring dozens of ingredients lists (and consulting PETA's website), I found 18 popular picks that are completely animal-free.


The 18 Best Vegan Candy Options You Should Stock Up On For Halloween

In a world where even something as seemingly harmless as "confectioner's glaze" is made with beetle secretions (nope, not joking&mdashthank you, PETA), finding vegan candy can be a CHALLENGE.

Whether you're gung-ho about the animal-free life or just trying to avoid dairy and, ya know, beetles, you can totally still indulge your sweet tooth&mdashif you know what sneaky ingredients to look out for.

Obviously, dairy ingredients like milk, butter, milk fat, condensed milk, and milk powder are off the table. Same goes for casein and whey, two types of protein in milk often used in candies.

Other no-gos: Gelatin, which comes from animal bones and is often used in gummies. Oh, and another gross one? Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA.

Though you'll have to kiss most chocolate candies (including classic Tootsie Rolls) goodbye, you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. After scouring dozens of ingredients lists (and consulting PETA's website), I found 18 popular picks that are completely animal-free.


The 18 Best Vegan Candy Options You Should Stock Up On For Halloween

In a world where even something as seemingly harmless as "confectioner's glaze" is made with beetle secretions (nope, not joking&mdashthank you, PETA), finding vegan candy can be a CHALLENGE.

Whether you're gung-ho about the animal-free life or just trying to avoid dairy and, ya know, beetles, you can totally still indulge your sweet tooth&mdashif you know what sneaky ingredients to look out for.

Obviously, dairy ingredients like milk, butter, milk fat, condensed milk, and milk powder are off the table. Same goes for casein and whey, two types of protein in milk often used in candies.

Other no-gos: Gelatin, which comes from animal bones and is often used in gummies. Oh, and another gross one? Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA.

Though you'll have to kiss most chocolate candies (including classic Tootsie Rolls) goodbye, you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. After scouring dozens of ingredients lists (and consulting PETA's website), I found 18 popular picks that are completely animal-free.


Watch the video: ALL BRITISH CHOCOLATE EASTER EGGS!!!